Another season another set of nicknames courtesy of interesting pronunciation

Tonight I managed to catch some of the BabyCanucks vs Baby Oilers game. I’ve decided that minus Taylor-I-Wish-Rio-Had-Puked-On-Him-At-The-Mem-Cup Hall, I quite like the new group of Oilers coming up. You don’t argue with a team that has Jordan Eberle and Magnus Paajarvi-Svensson.

ANYWAY….

We’re now in the process of adding “Ebrolay” and “Wahhh” to The Dictionary. I’m sure you can guess that Ebrolay is Eberle. Of all the names I expected the play x play guys to get all tongue-twisted with.. I wasn’t expecting Eberle to present a lot of issues. Apparently I was wrong.

And of course the curse of the French “R” came back [before anyone gets on my case. I’m not a fan of those Rs either. Why do you think I call Fleury “Floppy Flambe”? I mean other than the fact that he flops around in the net all the time? NO FRENCH Rs.]. Olivier Roy was tonight’s victim. He got to be “Oh-liv-ee-er Wahhh”. I’m okay with calling him Wahhh though. Because it looks like “Wahhhhhhhh” which is what’s going to happen to him when his team gets trounced this year :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Another season another set of nicknames courtesy of interesting pronunciation

  1. Grrrreg says:

    Ahahah, that reminds me, I completely forgot my first name sounded like Greg-Whaaah too! :p

    How can they mess up with Eberle though? That’s not even French!

  2. Shan says:

    D’accord, Etronal Pessimiste et Gweg!

  3. They pretty much got “Paajarvi” right. But they screwed up Canadian Hero Jordan Eberle’s name (yeah, you think I’m just gonna let John Carlson walk around with the name “American Hero John Carlson”?!!!!). It’s was so sad. Ebrolay. Honestly.

  4. Dave says:

    I kinda like the sound of “American Hero John Carlson”… and continue to hope that “Stanley Cup Hoisting Matt Bradley” will become a new nickname sometime soon. (No comments about him having to be traded to get that name please!)

  5. I knew you were going to come along and say that about John Carlson! :D :D :D :D :D You guys stick with your hero and we’ll stick with ours :D

    And I do like the sound of Stanley Cup Hoisting Matt Bradley. And he flipping better be a Cap when he does it!

Leave a Reply

