Quote of the Day: Roger Federer can’t skate

Might as well mention something other than people heading for THE BEACH or the affiliate of the aforementioned beach (I’ll give you Pascal if you leave CoachSweatervest alone). Also, it’s Roger’s b-day today so might as well mention the dude….

Q: What kind of an ice hockey player were you?

RF: I never played. I can’t skate properly. I skated here [in Toronto] but I go in circles because I can’t stop and I can’t go backward. I’m so slow. That’s something I want to do once I retire, learn how to skate properly. But we used to play uni-hockey, with the light ball. We used to do that a lot in Switzerland.

Also, apparently he cried when he lost to a girl.

Q: When is the last time you lost to a woman or a girl?

RF: I used to practice with Magdalena Maleeva [the former world No. 4 from Bulgaria], when she was at the national tennis centre [in Switzerland]. I remember I lost a set against her once. I also played against Emmanuela Zardo, who was also a Swiss player who ranked top 50. I actually lost against her too. I think I even cried after the practice session because I was so disappointed. I was only like 14 or 15.

And he fails at Slovak. Have a chocolate milk, Rog. Maybe that will help ;p

Q: You speak several languages (Swiss German, English, French and German), what’s the hardest new language for you to learn?

RF: I’ve been together with my wife [Mirka Vavrinec] for almost, or over, 10 years now, and when she speaks to her parents in Slovak, I still don’t understand a word. I guess that is hard for me, it’s so different.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Quote of the Day: Roger Federer can’t skate

  1. Rookie says:

    bahaha chocolate milk.

    …Now I’m sad because Jaro went to St. Louis.

  2. Grrrreg says:

    I think we should add a new Open to the Grand Slam. It would be played in Edmonton, and the surface would be ice. Ice tennis. Wouldn’t that be fantastic? I think I should patent that idea.

  3. Not if I patent it first. That would be awesome. I can just picture Muz falling flat on his face now… :D :D :D :D

Leave a Reply

