“Messy Been” Vancouver

I believe it was the mayor of Vancouver last night [edit: hmm okay, it was the VANOC dude] who said “messy been” in what I can only hope was a sad attempt at saying “merci bien”. I guess we can applaud him for attempting to say it? Maybe?

Anyway, thanks Vancouver. There were a  lot of ups and downs in the first week especially – but you turned this event into a very special one for Canadians. Winning THE gold medalS was certainly a highlight, but the whole thing was pretty special. It’s something I’m going to remember for a long time.

Thanks to all the other athletes for coming and participating. Obviously it wouldn’t be as special without you! Thanks especially to the countries who dont’ do this whole winter thing and yet still sent people (I’m looking at you Ghana!).

Thank you to the Canadian athletes. You were awesome. All of you. Even the ones who didn’t win. You didn’t disappoint me in the least.

Thanks Vancouver! Now get some snow for the next time :D

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “Messy Been” Vancouver

  1. Grrrreg says:

    Well done with your headline, that was funny. Those were great olympics.

    And the closing ceremony was really nice (until they started sending us all the famous but lame Canadians bands starting with Nickelback) I really love the way Canadians are able to laugh at themselves. The way the ceremony started was brilliant, and I really thought the Michael Buble piece was funny with all the Canadians clichés. Overall, that was a really sweet ceremony.

  2. Shan says:

    I really thought I left a comment earlier. Hmm.

    Anyway, I was saying that I think that was the president of VANOC, but I’m not sure. And that his French pronunciation was awful.

  3. Grrrreg – Oh boy, the singing was awful last night…. I think I’ll just take the gold medals in hockey and run away now D:

    Shan – It was the VANOC guy? Really? The guy before Jacques WhatIsHisLastNameAgain?

    Whoever it was, he couldn’t pronounce anything in French D:

  4. Shan says:

    Yeah, I looked it up to double-check. That guy should’ve been given major coaching. Pretty sad…

    found this cool guy who also blogged about it:
    http://www.alstonadams.net/blog/2010/03/john-furlong-embarrassed-me.html#comments

  5. Okay, apologies to the mayor of Vancouver and major boooooooo for the VANOC dude =/

Leave a Reply

